August 25, 2012, at 8:07 am

Scratch 12 inches on CD

Trojan have issued literally dozens of Lee Perry CD’s over the years, the likes of Pressure Sounds have done a fair few too. You could be forgiven for imagining that it’s all been done before, in fact you’d be pretty much right.

Lee “Scratch” Perry And Friends – Disco Devil The Jamaican Discomixes does what it ways on the tin, over the course of two CD’s 18 12″ mixes are collected together, it’s all been done before yes of course, the classic Arkology set compiled many of these mixes before. But that was then and this is now, fifteen years later a new generation need to hear these and Trojan have come up with the goods.


In many ways the 12″ discomix was made for Lee Perry, they gave him the opportunity to stretch the boundaries of his tunes with meandering ad libs and layers of sound as only he could. Not everything is great, some smack of self indulgence and after 5 or so minutes some tunes feel like they’ve lost their way. But when it’s right, which fortunately is more often than not, the results are just great. Check for example the opening track Norman by Max Romeo for nearly nine minutes of greatness, or the both eccentric and classic multi layered mix of Vampire by Carlton Livingston And Doctor Alimantado.


The artwork on the CD’s copies the classic Black Art label design and is an example of exactly how it should be done, the sleeve notes are an abridged version of the Lee Perry story which can be read in a dozen other places but there are pictures of the original labels for most of the recordings on the CD’s which is great. Disco Devil is a welcome addition to the vast legions of Lee Perry reissues and retrospectives, unless you own all the of the others you may well need this one.

4 comments to Scratch 12 inches on CD

  • Jos Z.

    It’s a great value for money package, for sure. A shame though, that the last track on CD 1 is not the 12″ mix of Roots Train, with the Dillinger toast, but rather the album mix from Police and Thieves. And hopefully a second volume will showcase some rarer tunes. That said, a very nice compilation indeed.

  • Alias

    There’s also a new Super Ape/Return of the Super Ape CD on Trojan on the way. Includes some extended versions.

  • muzzer

    Hi Tim,
    This is still not up on the Trojan website yet and I was wondering if this was worth getting as I’ve got the Arkology set and the3 box sets Steve Barrow put together in the ’80s.Be good to see a tracklist so I can make a judgement.

  • admin

    You’ll have most Muzzer but probably not all:

    Disc: 1
    1. Norman – Max Romeo, The Upsetters
    2. Bad Weed – Junior Murvin
    3. To Be A Lover (Have Some Mercy) – George Faith
    4. Know Love – The Twin Roots
    5. Rainy Night In Portland – Watty Burnett
    6. Disco Devil – Lee “Scratch” Perry, Full Experience
    7. City Too Hot – Lee “Scratch” Perry
    8. Words – Sangie Davis, Lee Perry
    9. Roots Train – Junior Murvin, Dillinger
    Disc: 2
    1. Open The Gate – Watty Burnett
    2. Neckodeemus – The Congos
    3. Rasta Train – Doctor Alimantado, Raphael Green
    4. Ketch Vampire – Doctor Alimentado, Devon Irons
    5. History – Carlton Jackson
    6. Sons Of Slaves – Junior Delgado
    7. Party Time – The Heptones
    8. Free Up The Prisoners – Lee “Scratch” Perry
    9. Garden Of Life – Leroy Sibbles

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.