October 15, 2011, at 6:02 am

Jammy's Specials from Dub Store Part 2

Nitty GrittyHot on the heels of the four 7″ released recently featuring late 80’s/early 90’s Jammy’s specials, Japan’s Dub Store Records are back with three more of the same.

I haven’t changed my view that releasing old 10″ dubplates on 7″ format is a curious strategy but that said it can’t be denied that it’s great to hear some of these in pristine quality. All three of the a sides this time round are completely great.

  • Nitty Gritty – Play Round The World
    Kill Them All
  • Michael Buckley – Test We
    Anthony Malvo & Colin Roach – Jammys Let’s Cruise
  • Super Black – A We Rule
    Anthony Malvo – Gone Inna History

Michael BuckleyObviously a Nitty Gritty special will always have a special kudos and this cut of Run Down The World is as good a dub as you’re likely to hear from him, but that Super Black is astounding, it would kill any sound at any time, period.

These recordings are pure history and format reservations aside it’s great that they are being made available.

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.