March 10, 2010, at 11:53 pm

More from the Prince..

Just as Greensleeves/VP come out with a compilation of big sides from Jammy’s pre digital days Pressure Sounds take it to another level by re-issuing the (relatively) obscure 1981 dub LP Prince Jammy Presents: Strictly Dub.

Jammy produces and mixes with Sly & Robbie in the studio alongside the likes of Bobby Ellis, Deadly Headly Bennett and Winston Wright. The tunes are mostly classic rhythms like Shan Kai Shek, Baba Boom, Ali Baba played in a modern style. This is good as you’d expect.

The sleeve illustration below is from the original issue. Pressure Sounds have not released any information about the re-issues cover yet. Strictly Dub is released on April 12th on CD and LP.

[audio:]Basement Dub

Strictly DubTracklist:
Chapter 1
1. Immigrant Dub
2. Basement Dub
3. Brooklyn Dub
4. B.Q.E. Dub
5. Interboro Dub

Chapter 2
1. Old Country Dub
2. 42nd Street Dub
3. 271 Utica Dub
4. Bronx Fashion Dub
5. Strictly Dub

Bonus CD only tracks
1. Mother Dub
2. Dis Dub Rule

At the same time as this release Pressure Sounds are also issuing a classic Jammy’s tune on 7″:
Time Is A Moment In Space – Wayne Smith/Life Is A Moment In Space – Prince Jammy
as usual this will come in heavy Pressure Sounds vinyl with a picture sleeve. This is also on the forthcoming Greensleeves/VP set witout the version/dub.

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.